Monday, February 24, 2014

And The NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Jazz Album Goes To...

Executive Producer Robert Mailer Anderson accepts the NAACP Image Award

The SFJAZZ Collective won 'Outstanding Jazz Album' at the 45th NAACP Image Awards for Wonder: The Songs of Stevie WonderRobert Mailer Anderson, Executive Producer of the album, accepted on behalf of the band over the weekend. The Collective joined the likes of Beyoncé, John Legend and Janelle Monáe to receive top honors. The award-winning album featured Miguel Zenón, Eric Harland, Matt Penman, Avishai Cohen, Mark Turner, Stefon Harris, Robin Eubanks and Edward Simon. Watch them perform selections from Wonder on SFJAZZ's YouTube Channel.

SFJAZZ Collective, 2011

"Prized Possession," the photograph used as the album cover, comes from SFJAZZ Photographer Laureate Jim Goldberg's acclaimed Open See Collection—telling the story of refugees, immigrants, and trafficked individuals journeying from their countries of origin to their new homes in Europe. You can pick up a copy of Goldberg's Open See Collection at the SFJAZZ Box Office.

The award gives the SFJAZZ Collective some well-deserved recognition, highlighting but one chapter of its extensive book. To celebrate its ever-growing legacy of music, the Collective (with new members Warren Wolf, Obed Calvaire and David Sanchez) embarks on an extensive domestic tour throughout March and April, commemorating its 10th Anniversary. Check out the tour dates! Buy the album online at

No comments:

Post a Comment